• May 24th, 2024
  • Friday, 10:41:22 PM

Udall Congratulates New México Nominees

U.S. Senator Tom Udall recently announced the 35 New México students who have received his nomination to attend a United States service academy beginning in 2017. A congressional, vice-presidential, or service-connected nomination is required for admission to the U.S. Military Academy (West Point), the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Students receiving Udall’s nomination completed a competitive application process, which included an interview with the senator’s Military Academy Service Panels, comprised of military and community leaders.

“The students I have nominated to the United States service academies this year represent some of New México’s best and brightest,” Udall said. “It is my honor to congratulate them and to wish them luck as they continue with the admissions process. These exceptional students have demonstrated their talents and strong leadership in both their academic and extracurricular endeavors, and I’m proud of their desire to serve our nation. All of the service academies provide an excellent education that prepares students to excel in both military and civilian life. I am confident that the students who choose to enroll in the academies will represent New México well, and I wish them the greatest success as they continue their education and pursue a life of leadership and service.”

These students will now compete for admission to their service academy over the coming months. Those admitted will begin classes in the summer of 2017 as members of the class of 2021.

The following are the students nominated from New México by academy:

United States Military Academy (West Point): Michael Brouillette of Santa Fe, Matthew Jingle of Albuquerque, Perry Miller of Albuquerque, Caleb Moreno of Lovington, Carly Read of Albuquerque, Heana Reed of Rio Rancho, Benjamin Selph of Rio Rancho, Chris Sharfin of Roswell, Michael Smith of Albuquerque, and Andres Torres of Albuquerque.

United States Naval Academy: Shea Auge of Albuquerque , William Cheshire of Albuquerque , Isaac Dunwoody of Los Alamos, Joseph Greer of Albuquerque, Brittany Holden-Rhodes of Placitas, Michael McCullough of Albuquerque, Deven McGee of Albuquerque, Colton Powell of Cedar Crest, Brannon Purvis of Albuquerque, and Jason Watlington of Albuquerque.

United States Air Force Academy; Zachary Andrews of Albuquerque, Jason Brenholdt of Tijeras, Cameren Kristensen of Albuquerque, Marcus Lovato of Las Vegas, Grace Metzgar of Rio Rancho, Connor Neal of Albuquerque, Joseph Ortiz of Albuquerque, Dillon Reynolds of Ruidoso, Cole Ronnau of Albuquerque, and Belle Toney of Farmington.

United States Merchant Marine Academy: Layton Barela of Albuquerque, Peter DeGroot of Roswell, Malcolm Keith of Albuquerque, Dominic Moore of Roswell and Mark Shover of Albuquerque.