• July 24th, 2024
  • Wednesday, 09:47:34 PM

MCA Denver’s Scholarship Application Launches for 2022 

Photo: MCA Denver 18-year-old Kaley Corinaldi MCA Denver 2021 scholarship winner.



The Museum of Contemporary Art Denver (MCA Denver) announced the 2022 Failure Award Scholarship worth $20,000 for a graduating high school senior who demonstrates innovation, creativity, fearlessness, and a willingness to risk failure in the pursuit of something new.


The Failure Award scholarship rewards a Colorado student who embraces the spirit of creative risk-taking with scholarship dollars that can be used at any accredited post-secondary institution towards educational expenses.


“While so much of student life is focused on achievement, MCA Denver believes that in order to create something original and authentic, it is necessary to risk failure. The Failure Award is given not on the basis of academic merit or athletic prowess, but rather on a student’s demonstration of a willingness to take these risks,” said Sarah Kate Biae, MCA Denver Director of Programming.


The Failure Award is based on documentation of a project the student created or produced while in high school that demonstrates originality and creativity. This can be a creative project, like a novel, a play, an opera; a technology-based project like a design for a new car, or a spaceship, or a robot; or something that falls outside of these criteria altogether. Some projects may present solutions to problems in the world, however, all projects will be considered, no matter how harebrained, impractical, or absurd.


Interested applicants can apply via the museum’s website at www.mcadenver.org or by creating an account to access the application through The Denver Foundation by April 1, 2022. To be eligible, applicants must:


-Be a resident of and attend high school in Colorado


-Graduate from high school in the spring of 2022


-Plan to attend an accredited college or university in the fall of 2022


-Be able to attend the Failure Awards on April 30, 2022


Finalists will be selected based on their project description and supporting documentation, demonstration of creative risk-taking, and presentation. If selected, students will present their project to a panel of judges, as well as to the visiting public, during the MCA Denver Failure Awards. Each student will be given up to ten minutes to present their work and then will answer questions from the panel. Participants will be evaluated on originality, innovation, and their ability to present a project within the theme of risking failure as an integral part of the creative process.


The scholarship is generously supported by the Fries Foundation.


To learn more about the selection process, important dates and more, visit www.mcadenver.org.



For More Colorado News: ELSEMANARIO.US