• April 13th, 2024
  • Saturday, 08:00:14 PM

Call To Protect Immigrants’ Private Data

In early December, 106 Members of Congress sent a letter to President Obama requesting that he take action to protect the names and private information of those who enrolled in the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA). The letter, led by Reps. Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Judy Chu (CA-27), Zoe Lofgren (CA-29), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), and Luis Gutiérrez (IL-04), specifically suggests an Executive Order that would prohibit the use of DACA enrollees’ information for purposes other than originally intended, including for purposes of deportation. The letter was endorsed by National Immigration Law Center (NILC), the Coalition for Humane Immigration Rights of Los Angeles (CHIRLA), and Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC). The authors of the letter released the following statements: “The men and women who courageously stepped out of the shadows to apply for DACA must not be punished,” Rep. Grijalva said. “The federal government promised to ensure their safety; we cannot waver on that commitment or allow the next administration to undermine it. The safety of every DACA applicant is at stake. I urge President Obama to ensure this program and the information it has collected are never used to harm the very people it intended to help.”

[pullquote]If the new President is contemplating mass deportation of immigrants, he will have to go through us first. – Congressman Luis Gutiérrez[/pullquote]

“When the government offered protection to immigrants if they worked hard, laid roots, went to school, and followed the laws, thousands acted on trust. Now that they’ve handed us names, addresses, birth certificates, and biometric information, we have to honor that trust,” said Rep. Judy Chu. “Further, President-elect Trump has said that his priority is to deport those who are a danger to our country. By qualifying for DACA, these immigrants are by definition not a threat to our country, but rather assets. I urge President Obama to take immediate executive action to protect these Dreamers before he leaves office.”

“The President, along with many Democratic Members of Congress, urged these young immigrants to come out of the shadows, and to register with the government on the premise that they may live without fear of deportation,” said Rep. Lofgren. “Now, with that assurance shattered, those of us who urged for and help implement the DACA program have a moral responsibility to do what we can to protect these young people from deportation under a Trump administration.”

“To misuse personal DACA information to tear away young men and women from the only home they know, the United States, would be more than legally misguided: it would be categorically wrong,” said Rep. Roybal-Allard. “The DACA application, which recipients signed in good faith, clearly states that no information ‘can be shared for the sole purpose of removal.’  It would be unconscionable to remove young Americans covered under DACA from the U.S.  I strongly urge President Obama to use his executive authority to protect them.”

“We are going to do everything we can to protect the DREAMers who came forward to register under DACA, but that is only the beginning,” said Rep. Gutiérrez. “If the new President is contemplating mass deportation of immigrants, he will have to go through us first.”

The letter was signed by: Reps. Judy Chu (CA-27), Luis Gutiérrez (IL-04), Lucille Roybal – Allard (CA-40), Mike Honda (CA-17), Danny K. Davis (IL-07), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Jerold Nadler (NY-10), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Mike Doyle (PA-14), Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (FL-23), Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Susan Davis (CA-53), Michelle Luján Grisham (NM-01), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Xavier Becerra (CA-34), Bobby Scott (VA-03), Grace Meng (NY-06), Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Katherine M. Clark (MA-05), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Beto O’Rourke (TX-16), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Raul Grijalva (AZ-03), Tammy Duckworth (IL-08), Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Bill Keating (MA-09), Ted Lieu (CA-33), Marc Veasey (TX-33), Ruben Kihuen (NV-04) (Elect), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), Jim Costa (CA-16), Lois Frankel (FL-22), Grace Napolitano (CA-32), Karen Bass (CA-37), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Bill Foster (IL-11), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Jared Polis (CO-02), Mark Takano (CA-41), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Tony Cardenas (CA-29), G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Joe Courtney (CT-02), Betty McCollum (MN-04), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), David Price (NC-04), John Conyers (MI-13), Adam Schiff (CA-28), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Bennie Thompson (MS-02), Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Al Green (TX-09), Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), Nydia Velazquez (NY-07), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Donna Edwards (MD-04), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Donald Payne Jr. (NJ-10), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Alma Adams (NC-12), Joseph Kennedy Jr. (MA-04), Don Beyer (VA-08), Maxine Waters (CA-43), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Earl Perlmutter (CO-07), Kurt Schrader (OR-05), John Garamendi (CA-03), Elliot Engel (NY-16), Gene Green (TX-29), Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Ted Deutch (FL-21), Yvette Clarke (NY-09), Albio Sires (NJ-08), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Peter Welch (VT-AL), Diana DeGette (CO-01), Mike Thompson (CA-05), Frank Pallone (NJ-06), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), John Lewis (GA-05), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Gregorio Sablan (N. Mariana-DD), Filemon Vela (TX-34), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Jim McGovern (MA-02), Dina Titus (NV-01), Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01), Cedric Richmond (LA-02), William Lacy Clay (MO-01), Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Jose Serrano (NY-15), Adam Smith (WA-09), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Norma Torres (CA-35), Mike Quigley (IL-5), Sam Farr (CA-20), David Cicilline (RI-01), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Keith Ellison (MN-05), Bobby Rush (IL-01).